On Her Majesty’s Naval Service

As some of you reading may know, I recently got into Dystopian Wars, the steampunk naval wargame produced by Spartan Games.

I’m not usually interested in ‘historical’ wargames, but DW caught my imagination with it’s inventive alternative universe take on the Victorian area and it’s cool steampunk elements. The steampunk elements adding that little bit of sci-fi spice to excite my interest. The fact that the models are absolutely fantastic (while being relatively inexpensive by wargaming minature standards) was just a bonus.

It took me a while to decide which of the four nations that were available at the time. I was tempted by the sleek lines of the Prussian Empire ships and the quirkyness of the Empire of the Blazing Sun – most especially the Bond villain-esque Tenkei Sky Fortress. I initially had my doubts about the Kingdom of Britania, most especially because I felt the model for the Avenger Fleet Carrier wasn’t a very good implementation of the ‘two hulls’ concept. But as I saw other models in the range such as the Majesty Class Dreadnought, Ruler Class Battleship and the especially cool Vanguard Class Submarine I was won over. I also started to appreciate the sheer firepower of the Britanians, not the most subtle of fleets perhaps, but ore than able to bring the noise against enemies.

My first attempt at painting a Britanian model was, to be perfectly honest, a bit of a disaster. I promptly destroyed all evidence of the woefully thought out colour scheme by plunging the model in question into a vat of dettol.

Searching for inspiration for a new colour scheme – and determined to avoid anything too grey to prevent clashing with my Aquans for Firestorm Armada – I found myself looking at a Wikipedia photo of HMS Warrior:

HMS Warrior - launched 1861

The combination of black, red and white really appealed to me and it struck me that this could form the basis of a striking, but also quite simple colour scheme.

My first ship painted in this scheme was completed on Sunday night, just in time for the all important #MiniatureMonday on Twitter:

Cry God, England and St George!

Britanian Tribal-class Crusier

I’m quite pleased with now the black, highlighted with gunmetal makes the hull look suitably weathered and also emphasises the heavy construction and the blunt-instrument nature of the designs.

So, this was the first of what I hope will be a very successful fleet. I have a big pile of ships waiting to be painted and I think this colour scheme will let me paint up a really good looking fleet in not much time.

In the meantime however, all ahead and damn the torpedoes!

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

